Shopify Customer Privacy API integration
Shopify currently has the option to limit the tracking of data for customers from different locations.
Automated customer privacy regions
After 12th of December 2024 our app is already integrated with the Shopify API which allows you to set the regions where you need the Shopify Customer Privacy settings applied, to be set directly from the app settings.
- Navigate to the Consent banner tab of our app
- Open the Regions section.
- Choose the regions where you want the cookie bar to be displayed for and data to be collected only after consent and Save the changes.

Setting up the Customer Privacy regions via Shopify
You can also set the regions in which the tracking will begin only after consent is given by following these steps:
- Navigate to your store's Settings
- Open the Customer Privacy section
- Find the Cookie Banner page
- Once there, go to More actions
- Select Set custom banner regions
- From the modal, choose the regions, as shown below:
- The Facebook Pixel and Google Analytics and other services added via the native Shopify sales channels, will be blocked initially until the customer explicitly gives his consent.
This is happening on Shopify's side, with the Consent Tracking API, which our app is integrated with. How it works is once the page is loaded and the cookies are initially blocked by Shopify, each customer has the option to opt-in or opt-out of the different cookie groups.
Once the customer presses one of the 'Accept' buttons, a flag containing each cookie group's consent will be sent to Shopify. Each of those consents will be set either to true or false, depending on how the customer has configured their preferences.
If they has accepted any of the cookie groups, then they will be set to true in the flag.
If not, then the they will be set to false and Shopify will continue to block the cookies the same way as they were blocked initially.
The blocking will also work with the cookies, set on the Checkout page.
- In the below example, you can check how the consent categories are set in Shopify if all of them are also blocked in the Consentmo app settings initially, and how they change upon given consent:
- The initial state of the consent categories are set to an empty string if all of them are blocked initially in the Consentmo settings as well
- Once the visitor make a selection, they are set with the respective
yesornovalues - There is also the case where the tracking is allowed initially form the Consentmo settings, before the banner is interacted. In this case all of the consent categories will have the respective value
yes

Need help?
In case you need any assistance, please make sure to reach out to our support team via live chat or at support@consentmo.com
Updated on: 04/08/2026
Thank you!

